Skip to content

Colouring in Mondays 2 – yarns

July 19, 2010

Since Monday is a traditionally depressing day, on Tasmanian craftie it’s going to be the day of colour – wonderful pictures for you to look at, colour combinations to inspire you.

This time it’s all blues, cool, rich and yet delicate.

I’m not a knitter – I just drool over the gorgeous yarns I find on Etsy and flickr. I’m edging towards justifying it as a ‘mixed media’ purchase…what do you think?

Faded Denim by dyedianadye

natural indigo dyed handspun yarn, pale blue by rivulette

Denim Shmenim - Handspun Art Yarn by Colorbomb Creations

Blueberry Fairy Handspun Yarn from Syrendell

 A picture to inspire new colourways:

Captain Blue Ice by ystenes

 I’m trying to come up with a way to include yarn in my easy-peasy washing machine needlefelting technique. I sense some trials (and many errors) coming up. I’ll keep a photographic record and post it as a how-to…or perhaps a how-not-to…shortly.

Craft update: the wonderful batt from Copperpot has felted up so well that the pods look like little martian planets. My personal opinion is that they’re absolutely gorgeous. There’s also a large green one that looks like Uranus…or should that be Neptune? Pics to follow…

No comments yet

Leave a comment